McCurdy Clan Project Update

I was back at it with my crest project last week though I didn’t get as far as I would have liked, I did get some valuable detail work put in. Check out the progress below:

For paint I’m still working with my Apple Barrel paints, and Liquitex BASICS Acrylics, though for this particular portion I used more of the first than the latter.

I started on the tree at the bottom of the shield and interchanged with the dragon at the top while I waited for paint layers to dry. I started out with a dark green fro both and added a lighter shade of green for highlights to give me two more shades to work with.

I later went back with a gold leaf type of green to add some sparkle to these elements. Crests were once regarded with utmost importance as they served as family identity to the people around you, thus adding some glints of gold and silver just makes sense.

Next will be the sword which is white in the original but I’m planning on adding a thin wash of silver to strengthen its visual appeal.

All images: © Aundria Martinez.

Leave a Reply

