Inspirational Book Marks: Update

I’m still busy working on some handmade bookmarks for some very precious ladies.

On my last update I had cut my paper to size, marked my rulings for text, and begun to fill in the bookmarks with art and text, but no color…yet. 

Now I have added color using a dry brush technique for the backgrounds I later diluted with water and sprinkled with salt to get a sporadic splattering effect as the salt draws the water towards itself, and likewise the color also giving some unique patterns.

(I’ve used this technique on several of my other artist trading cards still available at my Etsy shop.)  

Now that the bookmarks are dry, my next step will be to add the holes at the top and tassels so they’re easy to find in the ladies’ books.

More to come!

All images © Aundria Martinez.

Leave a Reply

