McCurdy Clan Project Update

Now that the new year has started (and finally settled down), I’ve been hard at work trying to finish up my heraldry canvas. Check out the progress below:

For paint I’m still working with my Apple Barrel paints, and Liquitex BASICS Acrylics, though for this particular portion I used more of the first than the latter.

I started laying down the flat medium gray on the fleurs, and gradually worked my way into the darker portion of the shading work, and starting to fill in the background of the lower portion on the shield.

Switching brushes at this point is a must as a trade between filling and shading. The final outlining will be done as one of the final steps so while I’m trying to stay relatively clean within the lines, so I still have a little leverage until I lay down the blacks and text to the banners above and below the crest.

Outlining will be the most tedious part coming soon. For now its onto the gray highlights and the start of color for the helmet.

Stay tuned! There’s more to come as I reach this finish line for this project.

All images: © Aundria Martinez.

Leave a Reply

